Ayr Rugby Football Club

It was the end of season awards dinner at Ayr Racecourse on Friday night and there was a lot to celebrate.

2016/17 saw the men's 1st XV retain the Cairdeas Quaich, regain the Bill McLaren Shield and be crowned BT Premiership champions. The 2nd XV equalled their best-ever finish of second place in the BT Reserve League National 1, whilst Millbrae RFC maintained their place in BT West 2. Ayr Ladies grew into their role as a BT Premier League team and topped Premier B. The Ayr-Wellington boys' and girls' teams brought home national and regional titles and trophies.

George Hunter, Graham Hunter, Catherine Shennan, Tony Hall, Cameron Reece and Harry Ledgerwood were named players of the season for the 1st XV, 2nd XV, Ayr Ladies, Millbrae RFC, Ayr-Wellington U18s and Ayr-Wellington U16s respectively. Read the full winner here.

We would like to thank all of our sponsors for their unwavering support, our fans for their dedicated loyalty, our volunteers for their tireless efforts, our bar staff at Millbrae, our committee, our media team, our medical team, our coaches throughout every section of the club, the local community for getting behind us, and every single player who has pulled on a pink and black (and pink and dark green) shirt this year.