This afternoon the Ayrshire Bulls started their 2021 FOSROC Super6 campaign with a narrow defeat to Watsonians Rugby. Played out on a glorious day at Millbrae, it provided the enthralling rugby spectacle that was expected of the new tournament.

(George McMillan snaps Aaron Tait on his return to Millbrae)


The lead seldom stayed with one team, juggling back and forth for eighty minutes. The final count fell 21-26 in the visitor’s favour.


Although not what he was after from his first game in charge, Pat MacArthur was still upbeat at the final whistle: “There are parts of the game I’m really happy about. We had a lot of possession and dictated the territory battle. There’s a lot of positives in there.


“We just lacked that last pass, that cutting edge”.


MacArthur also praised the opposition for capitalising on the mistakes of his men: “credit to Watsons. They took their chances well, they didn’t get many. They managed to get a few tries off the back of a few errors”.


It was the first rugby to take place on the Millbrae paddock for over eighteen months, and MacArthur was quick to mention that he wants the squad to perform when in front of their home fans: “It’s disappointing after a year and a half of building to lose, especially on our home pitch. That is a big thing for us – taking pride over our home pitch”.


There’s no time for the Bulls to lick their wounds. On Saturday they’ll get another opportunity to defend their home when Boroughmuir Bears visit. The match kicks off at 15.00.


FOSROC Man of the Match: Lee Millar (Watsonians)



Ayrshire Bulls – Matt Minogue, George Thornton, Robbie Nairn

Watsonians – Harvey Elms, Jamie Forbes



Ayrshire Bulls – Matt Minogue x3

Watsonians – Lee Millar x2



Watsonians – Lee Millar x4


Ayrshire Bulls: 15. Matt Davidson, 14. Robert Beattie, 13. Tom Williams, 12. Tom Jordan, 11. Robbie Nairn, 10. Matthew Minogue, 9. Jordan Lenac; 1. George Thornton, 2. Rhodri Tanner, 3. Michael Scott, 4. Tom Everard, 5. Edward Bloodworth, 6. Ryan Sweeney, 7. Yaree Fantini, 8. Blair MacPherson (captain)

Replacements: 16. Alex McGuire, 17. Ruairidh Sayce, 18. Calvin Henderson, 19. Ewan Bulger, 20. Gavin Wilson, 21. Harry Warr, 22. Christian Townsend, 23. Aaron Tait


Watsonians Rugby: 15. Jamie Forbes, 14. Lomond Macpherson, 13. Lewis Berg, 12. Dominic Coetzer, 11. Harvey Elms, 10. Lee Millar (captain), 9. Reiss Cullen; 1. Harrison Courtney, 2. Cal Davies, 3. Angus Williams, 4. Kwagga Van Niekerk, 5. Michael Badenhorst, 6. Karl Main, 7, Harry Fisher, 8, Sam Daly.

Replacements: 16. Ross Graham, 17. Matias Sonzogni Argiro, 18. Steven Longwell, 19. Kieran Watt, 20. Luis Ball, 21. Campbell Wilson, 22. Murray Scott, 23. Scott King.